Victor takes his first walk

Copyright ImageVankleek Hill Victor walking photo

.

At the tender age of seventeen months, my son has started to walk.

He has taken short steps before, about a month ago he taught himself how to appear to be walking while actually falling to the floor with less urgency.

But on Friday, April 22, my girlfriend brought him into my apartment, stood him up in my living room, said something like “watch this”, and let go of his hands.

And Victor, with a huge smile, took about four steps, grabbed onto a kitchen chair, turned around and laughed.

He did it three or four more times, back and forth across my apartment floor. Unfortunately it was about the third or fourth time when I realized I wasn’t filming the event.

Diane has a camera at home, and she forgot to film it as well, so I’m not the only one.

We tried pretty much all day Saturday to get him to walk, but it’s not something I think he feels is entirely necessary yet. And he can be weirdly camera shy.

Well, we caught him on Sunday afternoon, so taa-daa…

.

I’m not sure what happens next, but I’m probably going to need new shoes… and maybe a new knee.

.

-30- banner

.

About Gabriel

I’ve lived in more than fifty places. I've been paid to pick stones out of fields, take backstage photos of Britney Spears, and report on Internet privacy issues. My photos have been published in several newspapers, and a couple of magazines.
This entry was posted in Eastern Ontario, Family, Parenthood, Parenting, Vankleek Hill, Victor's Week In Review, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Victor takes his first walk

  1. markps2 says:

    Thanks for showing us (readers) some of your joys. I would bet seeing your son walking is going to go on a list of good things to remember.

    • Gabriel says:

      Hi Mark, thanks for the comment, and you’re very welcome.

      I think this is on a list all of its own. He loves walking, as soon as we put him on the ground he gets a huge grin and just tries to go somewhere. In terms of ‘positive emotional impact’ I’d put this up there, almost, with his birth.

Leave a comment